Skip to content Skip to footer

Business Continuity Institute reforms FBCI entry requirements

There has been a recent reform to the FBCI grade requirements because of a disproportion in grade levels. The Business Continuity Institute awards someone with an FBCI by fulfilling a list contributions. The newly reformed requirements for the grade has made it easier for other members to obtain this grade status.

Why reform the FBCI entry requirements?

The Institute’s Global Board was concerned about disproportion in grade levels among the BCI’s members. They noticed that there was a large gap between those who had the FBCI grade and those who didn’t. The Business Continuity Institute reported that there is a total of 100 FBCIs members in the community. In contrast, the community has over 9000 members. Members argued in the past that some of the requirements for making a contribution were almost impossible to achieve. In response to their feedback the BCI proceeded with the reform and changed the FBCI entry requirements.

The reform altered the existing requirements of having to achieve four contributions from a list of eight possibilities to having at least 120 hours instead. In addition to the 120 hours it had to be within five years from an expanded list giving members other opportunities to meet the entry requirements.

What contributions are new for the FBCI?

Pro bono contributions to local community organizations will also be recognized as valid supporting contributions. On the other hand all other contributions for achieving the FBCI grade will remain the same.

Learn more about how to join the BCI

(BCI member #34, 1994), I heartily encourage business continuity professionals to aspire to this level of recognition.

Philip Jan Rothstein, FBCI


Rothstein Publishing Logo

Stay in touch with Our Updates

We don’t spam!